Home > News, Observations > Kudos to Senator Nelson of Nebraska

Kudos to Senator Nelson of Nebraska

Senator Ben Nelson of Nebraska is one of the few remaining truly moderate Democrats in Washington today. Unlike other so-called “moderate” Democrats in the Capitol, Nelson’s record actually proves this fact. He has a 47.26 lifetime rating from the ACU which places him in the company of moderate Republicans like Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins of Maine.

I wrote yesterday about how he may eventually give in to Harry Reid and pledge his vote to this atrocity that the Democrats want us to believe is a healthcare bill. His main holdout has been over abortion. He doesn’t want a healthcare bill that funds abortion. Though I frequently find myself opposed to him just like his fellow Democrats, I have to give him credit here. He is still holding out. Just a few moments ago, I read this:

A moderate Democrat whose vote could be crucial said Thursday an attempted Senate compromise on abortion is unsatisfactory, raising doubts about whether the chamber can pass President Barack Obama’s health care overhaul by Christmas.

“As it is, without modifications, the language concerning abortion is not sufficient,” Nebraska Sen. Ben Nelson, a key holdout on the health care bill, said in a statement after first making his concerns known to Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev.

Now, make no mistake, I am not giving kudos to Senator Nelson because I want this bill to pass. I, too, oppose federal funding of abortion, and I hope he continues to stand strong in his opposition to this bill. It is not merely for the pro-life cause that I applaud his holdout, it is also because I want this bill to fail. The fact that Senator Nelson is continuing to refuse to vote for this monstrosity makes me cheer, which is exactly why I applaud him.

Keep it up Senator Nelson. Don’t give in. This, as Herman Cain called it, “healthcare deform” bill will do nothing to fix the problems with our country’s healthcare system. It will only make it worse. I hope you understand that, Senator Nelson.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

