Home > Uncategorized > On My Recent Protected Posts

On My Recent Protected Posts

I know I started this blog a couple years ago to be a political one. From June of 2010 to just a few days ago, I let this blog lie dormant. Part of the reason for this was because I had trouble thinking of current events and political issues to write about, especially since other people are usually quicker on the draw than I am. The other reason was that I had decided to move my political commentary to my RedState diary which I’ve had for much longer than this blog. Being part of a community like RedState makes it much easier to get feedback on the political posts of some random guy like me.

Of late, I have taken a greater interest in writing fiction, an old hobby of mine. Most of this is  loosely based upon my college experiences, but I may branch out to other topics as well at some point. When I was looking for an option to publish online in a place where I had at least some control over who could access it, I realized I still had this blog sitting around, so I decided to post it here, with password protection while I’m still working out the kinks on the posts in question and deciding if I’m really ready for the world to see it.

At some point, I may just start a new blog for my writings and just leave this one dormant again, but for now, I’ll stay here. In the meantime, I welcome your feedback on my writings and your suggestions on what I ought to do about blogging (whether you think I ought to open a new site for my writings, for example). You can leave those thoughts on this post, in the comments sections of my already-posted stories, or through Twitter. If you’d like to read what I’ve written, particularly if you are a friend but I will consider anyone (though I do reserve the right to say “No” to anyone, friend or not), you can also request access here.

And please keep any insults related to my politics to yourselves, same goes for whining, but I’m pretty sure most everyone reading this is better than that. For my part, I make no apologies for what I believe, and I do my best to respect those who disagree with me.

  1. jdhughes89
    March 30, 2012 at 1:40 am | #1

    Hi. I came across this page while searching WordPress posts tagged with ‘creative writing’, and was disappointed not to see any yet as I like your style. I know I’m not a friend but I’d be more than happy to read some!

    • March 30, 2012 at 3:46 am | #2

      Well, I’ve opened up one of my posts to public view. I guess you could say this is to give the public a taste of my style.

      http://jakespeaks.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/sasha-1/

      See what you think of that before I send you anything else.

      Also, what have you read of mine before now that would cause you to like my writing style? (Don’t get me wrong, I really appreciate the compliment, but I am curious)

      • jdhughes89
        March 30, 2012 at 3:58 am | #3

        I meant the post I commented on. I’m quick to judge ;)

        I’ll have a read.

  2. March 30, 2012 at 2:02 pm | #4

    jdhughes89 :

    I meant the post I commented on. I’m quick to judge ;)

    I’ll have a read.

    Please do! I’ll look forward to your response. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

