Home > Manifestos, Uncategorized > Nunc aut Numquam (Or Why I’m Blogging)

Nunc aut Numquam (Or Why I’m Blogging)

I think, before I begin any more blog entries, I should explain exactly why I decided to blog in the first place. The reasoning behind it is best summed up in the Latin phrase I chose to title this particular entry. “Nunc aut numquam” translates to English as the phrase “now or never”. Simply put, I believed that it was now or never for me to speak out. I can keep quiet no longer my concern with the direction I believe our great nation is heading in.

As of this entry, I am but 20 years old. As such, I lack much of the experience that comes with age. However, I look towards the future now and wonder just what those experiences will end up being like. Everyday, it seems, there is some new encroachment upon my freedom by politicians who fail to understand its power or value. Worse still are those who do understand such things, and yet continue to oppose it because they fear it. I stand before the threshold of my adulthood and wonder if the country I will live in will even resemble the one I grew up in, never mind the one of my forefathers.

I understand its value, but I must now respectfully disagree with the saying “Silence is golden”. As the quote from Zell Miller in my banner reads, “I truly believe that at times like this, silence is not golden. It is yellow.” That quote describes my reasons for blogging about as well I could myself. I simply believe I can stay quiet no longer. I feel called to speak out on what is happening in our nation today, and I intend to make this blog will be my medium for doing so.

As such, this blog’s primary purpose will be political.  Its primary goal will be to provide my perspective, a conservative one, on the issues and subjects that concern me. There will be occasional digressions, but make no mistake, this is a political blog at heart. As I write on these topics, I hope to make numerous references to history, as that happens to be a specialty of mine. Where others find history boring, I find it fascinating, and I believe one of its greatest uses is as a guide to what we should and should not do.

For those who are reading this, I sincerely hope you will make this a regular journey. As you read my various postings, I hope you will feel called to leaver your input. I really do enjoy hearing what others have to say.

I look forward to your fellowship in the future, but for now, I will leave you with another Latin phrase, attributed to be Augustus Caesar’s last words, “Acta est fabula,”, meaning “The story is finished.”

–Jake

  1. December 14, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Come on in, the water’s fine.

    Godspeed.

  2. Red
    December 15, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Sounds to me like “the story” has just begun. Weclome to the blogosphere Jake 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

